amazon
100 kiloherz
itunes
 
 

GERMAN VERSION


"The Loyalty Report" is a split single released by velveteen from Frankfurt (GER) and stun from Bremen (GER). velveteen play a cover version of stun's "We Are Cute" from the album "And At Least You Dance“. stun play a cover version of „The Drummer Goes Berserk“ from velveteen's album "Home Waters“.

Some places posses something deeply illusive, offering little reason for optimism and stifling any expectation from a start. A music club in a rural part of Lower Saxony on a gloomy day in November is hardly a place to get any band excited. Or a half-empty and newly built recording studio on an industrial estate in Hamburg with surroundings offering little hospitality except a 24-hour petrol station. On goggle maps it looks like a tiny island embraced by a constantly changing mass of scrap cars and lorries. It takes some determination to turn such places into spaces in which creation can flourish. But not only popular culture has shown that the most peculiar places often enable special projects.

stun and velveteen met on this gloomy day in November. It was in a music club in Lower Saxony and they were in love with each other before the sound check was over. Gigs in Berlin, Hamburg, Bremen and Frankfurt followed which goes to show the relevance of random encounters. But when the romance of the first dates is over, it takes something outstanding besides musical intersections to manifest a lasting relationship.

At their own CD release party, stun not only share the stage with velveteen, to everyone's surprise they also paraphrase velveteen's "The Drummer Goes Berserk“ at the end of their set, an almost minimalist song mainly based on a simple drum machine, laconic vocals and a propelling keyboard hook. stun turn this piece of music into an impressive and stun-typical rock song with blazing electric guitars which is distantly reminiscent of the original. Obviously, this grand gesture needs answering and both the invitation and the reply, an evidence of mutual respect, need to be recorded on a special format. Fortunately, Dennis Rux, joint proprietor of Sister Jack Records who is in the process of moving his recording studio to Hamburg, shares this opinion. Consequently, in May the two bands are spending four days and four long nights working on uninhibited cover versions of each other's songs in brand new recording rooms, between makeshift furniture and paint.

Two cover songs ranging from noisy guitar eruptions to silently click-clacking modesty, which are exemplary for both individual band sounds, are the outcome of this intense time at the new studio. The two indie pieces embrace a musical spectrum of statements showing a love for musical niches. And a niche those two bands have most definitely created for themselves on the indie scene. Beautifully genuine music prospers in it.

"The Loyalty Report“ is out on 10" vinyl on October 8 (Sister Jack Records / Cargo)and available as a download from September 17

velveteen stun
 

Fuego Music | Friedel Muders | Friesenstr. 106 | 28203 Bremen | Germany

+49 421 75111

info@fuego.de

amazon
100 kiloherz
itunes
 

 

ENGLISH VERSION


The Loyalty Report ist eine Split-Veröffentlichung der Frankfurter Band Velveteen und der Bremer Band Stun. Velveteen spielt „We Are Cute“ aus dem Stun-Album „And At Least You Dance“. Stun spielt „The Drummer Goes Berserk“ aus dem Velveteen-Album „Home Waters“.

Es gibt Orte, die etwas zutiefst Unwirkliches haben, wenig Grund für Optimismus bieten und Erwartungshaltungen im Keim ersticken. Ein Musikclub in der niedersächsischen Provinz an einem grauen Novembertag ist selten ein Szenario, das Bands in Euphorie zu versetzen vermag. Auch ein halbfertig anmutendes (weil gerade frisch gebautes) Tonstudio in einem Hamburger Gewerbegebiet, das außer einer 24 Stunden Tankstelle wenig an Gastlichkeit zu bieten hat und auf Google maps wie eine kleine Insel inmitten von ständig wechselnden Schrottautos und LKWs aussieht, erfordert durchaus Hingabe um zu einem Ort kreativer Arbeit zu werden. Dass es aber gerade die ungewöhnlichen Orte sind, die Raum für besondere Projekte lassen, ist nicht nur in der Popkultur vielfach bewiesen.

Dass stun aus Bremen und velveteen aus Frankfurt am Main am besagten Novembertag in der Provinz aufeinander treffen, sich bereits beim Soundcheck in das musikalische Schaffen der jeweils anderen Band verliebten und danach gemeinsame Konzerte u.a. in Berlin, Hamburg, Bremen und Frankfurt folgten ist ein Indiz für die Relevanz von zufälligen Begegnungen. Wenn der Zauber des ersten Aufeinandertreffens verflogen ist, bedarf es aber neben musikalischer Schnittmengen besonderer Zärtlichkeiten um eine wirkliche Band-Freundschaft zu manifestieren.

Auf der CD-Release Party von „And At Least You Dance“ teilen stun mit velveteen nicht nur die Bühne, sondern sie interpretieren zum Abschluss ihres Konzertes auch noch velveteens „The Drummer Goes Berserk“, einen minimalistisch anmutenden Song, der vor allem auf dem simplen Rhythmus eines Drumcomputers, lakonischem Gesang und einem vorwärts strebenden Keyboard basiert. stun lassen diesen Song zu einem beeindruckenden und stun-typischen Rocksong im Gitarren-Breitwandformat werden, der nur angenehm entfernt an das Original erinnert. Dass diese Geste nicht unerwidert bleiben kann ist klar; dass so ein Beweis gegenseitiger Wertschätzung aber gefälligst auf einem besonderen Tonträger landen sollte, ist ebenso eindeutig. Dennis Rux, Mitinhaber von Sister Jack Records, der mit seinem Analogtonstudio gerade nach Hamburg zieht, findet das glücklicherweise auch und schließlich verbringen die beiden Bands im Mai vier Tage und Nächte damit, zwischen provisorischen Einrichtungsgegenständen aber dafür in nagelneuen Aufnahmeräumen an sehr freien Interpretationen von "We Are Cute" und "The Drummer Goes Berserk" zu arbeiten.

Das Produkt der intensiven Stunden im Studio sind zwei Songs, die exemplarisch für das Klangbild der beiden Bands stehen und deren zentraler Ausgangspunkt die Idee des jeweiligen Gegenübers ist. Von noisigen Gitarrenausbrüchen bis zu charmant klackernder Bescheidenheit beinhalten die zwei Indie-Songs ein Spektrum von musikalischen Aussagen, das die Liebe zur Nische zeigt. Denn eine Nische haben die beiden Bands in der Indie-Szene für sich geschaffen. Und darin gedeiht wunderbar unverfälschte Musik.

Gemeinsame Wege auch beim Vertrieb: Am 08.10.2010 erscheint „The Loyalty Report“ via Sister Jack Records / Cargo exklusiv als 10inch auf Vinyl. Online wird „The Loalty Report“ via Fuego bereits ab 17.09.2010 bei musicload und i-tunes zum Download bereit stehen.

velveteen stun
 

Fuego Music | Friedel Muders | Friesenstr. 106 | 28203 Bremen | Germany

+49 421 75111

info@fuego.de